List of Accredited Universities in Nigeria in 2020

Also: How many Universities are Accredited in Nigeria

Nigeria have numerous universities both state and federal government sponsored. Currently, as at 2020, Nigeria has 79 Private Universities, 48 State Universities and 43 Federal Universities; making it a total of 170 universities in Nigeria.

https://www.nuc.edu.ng/

 

Total Number of Universities in Nigeria

Also: How Many Universities are in Nigeria?

Also: How Many Universities do we have in Nigeria?

 

The total number of Universities in Nigeria is 170. This includes both private, states and federal universities throughout the 36 States in Nigeria

https://www.nuc.edu.ng/nigerian-univerisities/private-univeristies/

https://www.naijahomebased.com/number-of-universities-in-nigeria/

The Cheapest University In Nigeria: You Wont Believe It

Ranking of Nigerian Universities: See the Position of Your School

How Many Federal Universities Are There in Nigeria?

There are currently 43 Federal Universities in Nigeria. The list is as follows: (This list is culled from NUC)

S/N FEDERAL UNIVERSITIES VICE CHANCELLOR WEBSITE ADDRESS YEAR EST.
1 Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi Professor Saminu Ibrahim https://www.atbu.edu.ng 1988
2 Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria Professor Ibrahim Garba https://www.abu.edu.ng 1962
3 Bayero University, Kano Professor Yahuza Muhammad Bello https://www.buk.edu.ng 1975
4 Federal University Gashua, Yobe Prof. Andrew Haruna https://www.fugashua.edu.ng 2013
5 Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun Prof. Akii Ibhadode https://www.fupre.edu.ng 2007
6 Federal University of Technology, Akure Prof. Joseph Adola Fuwape https://www.futa.edu.ng 1981
7 Federal University of Technology, Minna Professor Abdullahi Bala https://www.futminna.edu.ng 1982
8 Federal University of Technology, Owerri Prof. Francis Chukwuemeka Eze https://www.futo.edu.ng 1980
9 Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State Professor Fatima Batoul Muktar https://www.fud.edu.ng/ 2011
10 Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina Professor Armaya’u Hamisu https://www.fudutsinma.edu.ng 2011
11 Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State Prof. Alhassan Mohammed Gani https://www.fukashere.edu.ng 2011
12 Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State Professor Muhammad Sanusi Liman https://www.fulafia.edu.ng 2011
13 Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State Professor Angela Freeman Miri https://www.fulokoja.edu.ng 2011
14 Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State Professor Chinedum Nwajiuba https://www.funai.edu.ng 2011
15 Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa Professor Seth Accra Jaja https://www.fuotuoke.edu.ng/ 2011
16 Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State Prof. Kayode Soremekun https://www.fuoye.edu.ng/ 2011
17 Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State Professor Mohammed Kundiri https://www.fuwukari.edu.ng/ 2011
18 Federal University, Birnin Kebbi Prof. Bello Bala Shehu https://www.fubk.edu.ng 2013
19 Federal University, Gusau Zamfara Prof. Magaji Garba https://www.fugusau.edu.ng 2013
20 Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike Professor Francis O Otunta https://www.mouau.edu.ng 1992
21 Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola Professor Abdullahi Liman Tukur https://www.mautech.edu.ng 1981
22 National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos Professor Abdalla Uba Adamu https://www.nou.edu.ng 2002
23 Nigeria Police Academy Wudil Professor Munzali Jibril https://polac.edu.ng/ 2013
24 Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna Professor Azubuike Sonny Nwankwo (Provost) https://www.nda.edu.ng 1985
25 Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka Professor Charles Esimone https://www.unizik.edu.ng 1992
26 Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife Professor Eyitope Ogunbodede https://www.oauife.edu.ng 1962
27 University of Abuja, Gwagwalada Professor Abdul-Rasheed Na’ Allah https://www.uniabuja.edu.ng 1988
28 Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta Professor Felix Kolawole Salako https://www.unaab.edu.ng 1988
29 University of Agriculture, Makurdi Prof. Richard Anande Kimbir https://www.uam.edu.ng 1988
30 University of Benin Professor Lilian Salami https://www.uniben.edu.ng 1970
31 University of Calabar Prof. Zana Itinube Akpagu https://www.unical.edu.ng 1975
32 University of Ibadan Professor Abel Idowu Olayinka https://www.ui.edu.ng 1948
33 University of Ilorin Professor Sulyman Abdulkareem https://www.unilorin.edu.ng 1975
34 University of Jos Prof. Sebastian Maimako https://www.unijos.edu.ng 1975
35 University of Lagos Prof. Oluwatoyin T Ogundipe https://www.unilag.edu.ng 1962
36 University of Maiduguri Professor Ibrahim A. Njodi https://www.unimaid.edu.ng 1975
37 University of Nigeria, Nsukka Professor Benjamin C. Ozumba https://www.unn.edu.ng 1960
38 University of Port-Harcourt Professor Ndowa N Lale https://www.uniport.edu.ng 1975
39 University of Uyo Professor Enefiok Essien https://www.uniuyo.edu.ng 1991
40 Usumanu Danfodiyo University Professor L S Bilbis https://www.udusok.edu.ng 1975
41 Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State 2018
42 Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna Prof. Mohammed Dauda (Provost) https://afit.edu.ng 2018
43 Nigerian Army University Biu Prof. David Iliya Malgwi https://naub.edu.ng/ 2018

Source: NUC, https://www.nuc.edu.ng/nigerian-univerisities/federal-univeristies/

 

How Many State Universities Are There in Nigeria

Nigeria currently have 48 operating State Universities. State universities means that the funding responsibility of these universities falls under the respective State Governments.

S/N State Universities Vice Chancellor
1 Abia State University, Uturu Prof. E. Uche Ikonne https://www.absu.edu.ng 1981
2 Adamawa State University Mubi Prof (Mrs) Kaletapwa Farauta https://www.adsu.edu.ng 2002
3 Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Professor Igbekele Amos Ajibefun https://www.aaua.edu.ng 1999
4 Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot Akpaden Professor Eno James Ibanga https://www.aksu.edu.ng 2010
5 Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma Professor Ignatius A. Onimawo https://www.aauekpoma.edu.ng 1980
6 Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli Professor Fidelis Uzochukwu Okafor https://coou.edu.ng/ 2000
7 Bauchi State University, Gadau Prof. Ezzildin M. Abdulrahman https://www.basug.edu.ng 2011
8 Benue State University, Makurdi Professor Msugh Moses Kembe https://www.bsum.edu.ng 1992
9 Yobe State University, Damaturu Professor Yakubu Muktar https://www.ysu.edu.ng 2006
10 Cross River State University of Technology, Calabar Professor A. Owan Enoh https://www.crutech.edu.ng 2004
11 Delta State University Abraka Professor Victor Peretomode https://www.delsu.edu.ng 1992
12 Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki Professor Chigozie N Ogbu https://www.ebsu.edu.ng 2000
13 Ekiti State University Prof. Samuel Oye Bandele https://www.eksu.edu.ng 1982
14 Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu Prof. Luke O Anike https://www.esut.edu.ng 1982
15 Gombe State Univeristy, Gombe Professor Ibrahim Musa Umar https://www.gsu.edu.ng 2004
16 Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai Professor Muhammad N Maiturare https://www.ibbu.edu.ng 2005
17 Ignatius Ajuru University of Education,Rumuolumeni Prof. Ozo-Mekuri Ndimele https://www.iaue.edu.ng 2010
18 Imo State University, Owerri Prof. Mrs Victoria Obasi (Ag) https://www.imsu.edu.ng 1992
19 Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa, Jigawa Prof. Lawan Sani Taura https://www.slu.edu.ng 2013
20 Kaduna State University, Kaduna Professor Muhammad Tanko https://www.kasu.edu.ng 2004
21 Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil Professor IShehu A Musa https://www.kust.edu.ng 2000
22 Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero Prof. Bashar Ladan Aliero https://www.ksusta.edu.ng 2006
23 Kogi State University Anyigba Professor Mohammed Sanni Abdulkadir https://www.ksu.edu.ng 1999
24 Kwara State University, Ilorin Professor A. Na-Allah https://www.kwasu.edu.ng 2009
25 Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso Prof. Adeniyi S Gbadegesin https://www.lautech.edu.ng 1990
26 Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa Prof. Sunday R Ogunduyile https://www.osustech.edu.ng 2008
27 River State University Prof. Blessing Chimezie Didia https://www.rsu.edu.ng 1979
28 Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye Prof Ganiyu Olatunji Olatunde https://www.oouagoiwoye.edu.ng 1982
29 Lagos State University, Ojo Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun https://www.lasu.edu.ng 1983
30 Niger Delta University Yenagoa Prof. Samuel Gowon Edoumiekumo https://www.ndu.edu.ng 2000
31 Nasarawa State University Keffi Prof. Muhammad Akaro Mainoma https://www.nsuk.edu.ng 2002
32 Plateau State University Bokkos Prof. Doknan Sheni https://www.plasu.edu.ng 2005
33 Tai Solarin University of Education Ijebu Ode Prof. Oluyemisi Obilade https://www.tasued.edu.ng 2005
34 Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina Prof. Idris Isa Funtua https://www.umyu.edu.ng 2006
35 Osun State University Osogbo Prof Labode Popoola https://www.uniosun.edu.ng 2006
36 Taraba State University, Jalingo Prof. Vincent Ado Tenebe https://www.tsuniversity.edu.ng 2008
37 Sokoto State University Prof. Sani M Dangwaggo https://www.ssu.edu.ng 2009
38 Yusuf Maitama Sule University Kano Prof. Mustapha Ahmad Isah https://www.nwu.edu.ng 2012
39 Oyo State Technical University Ibadan Prof. Abayomi Salami https://tech-u.edu.ng/ 2012
40 Ondo State University of Medical Sciences Prof. Friday Okonofua https://www.unimed.edu.ng 2015
41 Edo University Iyamo Prof. Emmanuel Aluyor (Ag) https://www.edouniversity.edu.ng/ 2016
42 Eastern Palm University Ogboko, Imo State Prof. Dafe Otobo https://www.epu.edu.ng/ 2016
43 University of Africa Toru Orua, Bayelsa State Prof. Valentine Aletor https://www.uat.edu.ng/public/ 2016
44 Bornu State University, Maiduguri 2016
45 Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology Abeokuta 2017
46 Gombe State University of Science and Technology 2017
47 Zamfara State University 2018
48 Bayelsa Medical University 2019

Source: NUC, https://www.nuc.edu.ng/nigerian-univerisities/state-univerisity/

 

How Many Private Universities Are There in Nigeria

The total number of private universities which are fully accredited in Nigeria is 79. Private ownership implies that the funding responsibilities falls neither on the federal  nor state governments, rather, the onus of funding rest on individual or corporate owners.

S/N PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES VICE CHANCELLOR WEBSITE ADDRESS YEAR EST.
1 Achievers University, Owo Professor Tunji Samuel Ibiyemi https://www.achievers.edu.ng 2007
2 Adeleke University, Ede Prof. Samuel E Alao https://www.adelekeuniversity.edu.ng 2011
3 Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State Professor M.O Ajisafe https://www.abuad.edu.ng 2009
4 African University of Science & Technology, Abuja Professor Kingston Nyamapfene https://aust.edu.ng 2007
5 Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan Prof. Dapo F Asaju https://www.acu.edu.ng 2005
6 Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin Professor Taofeek Ibrahim https://www.alhikmah.edu.ng 2005
7 Al-Qalam University, Katsina Prof. Shehu G. Ado https://www.auk.edu.ng 2005
8 American University of Nigeria, Yola Dr. Dawn Dekle https://www.aun.edu.ng 2003
9 Augustine University Prof. Steve OlaOluwa Afolami https://www.augustineuniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
10 Babcock University,Ilishan-Remo Professor Ademola Stephen Tayo https://www.babcock.edu.ng 1999
11 Baze University Prof. Tahir Mamman https://www.bazeuniversity.edu.ng 2011
12 Bells University of Technology, Otta Professor Jeremiah Ojediran https://www.bellsuniversity.edu.ng/ 2005
13 Benson Idahosa University, Benin City Prof. Sam Guobadia https://www.biu.edu.ng/ 2002
14 Bingham University, New Karu Prof. William Barnabas Qurix https://www.binghamuni.edu.ng 2005
15 Bowen University, Iwo Professor. Matthews Akintunde Ojo https://www.bowenuniversity-edu.org 2001
16 Caleb University, Lagos Professor Ayandiji D Aina https://www.calebuniversity.edu.ng 2007
17 Caritas University, Enugu Professor Vincent C. Okore https://www.caritasuni.edu.ng/ 2005
18 Chrisland University Prof (Mrs) Chinedum Peace Babalola https://www.chrislanduniversity.edu.ng 2015
19 Covenant University Ota Prof. Aderemi A Atayero https://www.covenantuniversity.edu.ng/ 2002
20 Crawford University Igbesa Prof. Isaac Rotimi Ajayi https://www.crawforduniversity.edu.ng 2005
21 Crescent University Professor Ibrahim Gbajabiamila https://www.crescent-university.edu.ng 2005
22 Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo Prof. Timothy O Olagbemiro https://www.edwinclarkuniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
23 Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin Prof. Olukayode O. Amund https://www.elizadeuniversity.edu.ng 2012
24 Evangel University, Akaeze Prof. I U Kalu https://www.evangeluniversity.edu.ng 2012
25 Fountain Unveristy, Oshogbo Prof. Usman Abdullateef https://www.fountainuniversity.edu.ng 2007
26 Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State Prof. (Revd.) Chikelu. Anieke https://www.gouni.edu.ng 2009
27 Gregory University, Uturu Prof. M O E Iwuala https://www.gregoryuniversity.com 2012
28 Hallmark University, Ijebi Itele, Ogun Prof. Segun Odunola https://www.hallmark.edu.ng 2015
29 Hezekiah University, Umudi Prof. Enoch Ajunwa https://hezekiah.edu.ng/ 2015
30 Igbinedion University Okada Professor Lawrence Ikechukwu Ezemonye https://www.iuokada.edu.ng 1999
31 Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji Professor Sola Fajana https://www.jabu.edu.ng 2006
32 Kings University, Ode Omu Prof. Diran Famurewa https://www.kingsuniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
33 Kwararafa University, Wukari Professor Yakubu A Ochefu https://www.kwararafauniversity.edu.ng 2005
34 Landmark University, Omu-Aran. Professor Adeniyi Olayanju https://www.lmu.edu.ng 2011
35 Lead City University, Ibadan Prof. Kabiru Aderemi Adeyemo https://www.lcu.edu.ng 2005
36 Madonna University, Okija Prof. Chucks E. Ezedum https://www.madonnauniversity.edu.ng 1999
37 Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo Prof. Adeniyi Agunbiade https://www.mcu.edu.ng 2012
38 Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University Prof. (Mrs.) Ibiynka A. Fuwape https://mciu.edu.ng/ 2015
39 Mountain Top University Prof Elijah Ayolabi https://www.mtu.edu.ng 2015
40 Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja Professor Huseyin Sert https://www.ntnu.edu.ng 2009
41 Novena University, Ogume Prof Chris Aniche Okoroafor https://www.novenauniversity.edu.ng 2005
42 Obong University, Obong Ntak Professor Udouda M Ekanemesang https://www.obonguniversity.net 2007
43 Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State Prof. Chibuzo Nnate Nwoke https://www.oduduwauniversity.edu.ng 2009
44 Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos Professor Juan Manuel Elegido https://www.pau.edu.ng 2002
45 Paul University, Awka – Anambra State Professor Uche Isiugo-Abanihe https://www.pauluniversity.edu.ng 2009
46 Redeemer’s University, Ede Professor Anthony Enisan Akinlo https://www.run.edu.ng 2005
47 Renaissance University, Enugu Prof. C C Onochie https://www.rnu.edu.ng 2005
48 Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State Professor O. C. Onwudike https://www.rhemauniversity.edu.ng 2009
49 Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom Prof. Celestine A Ntuen https://www.ritmanuniversity.edu.ng 2015
50 Salem University, Lokoja Prof. (Mrs) Dorcas Oluwade https://www.salemuniversity.edu.ng 2007
51 Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa. Prof. Benard E. Aigbokhan https://www.sau.edu.ng 2011
52 Southwestern University, Oku Owa Prof. Babatunde A Ikotun https://www.southwesternuniversity.edu.ng 2012
53 Summit University Prof. H O B Oloyede https://www.summituniversity.edu.ng 2015
54 Tansian University, Umunya Professor Obioma Matthew Iheduru https://tansianuniversity.edu.ng/ 2007
55 University of Mkar, Mkar Prof. Iorwese D Gernah https://www.unimkar.edu.ng 2005
56 Veritas University, Abuja Prof. Michael Kwanashie https://www.veritas.edu.ng 2007
57 Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State Professor F E Obi Ikediugwu https://www.wellspringuniversity.net 2009
58 Wesley University. of Science & Technology, Ondo Professor Olu Aderounmu https://www.wusto.edu.ng 2007
59 Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State Prof. (Mrs) Olete Okobiah https://wdu.edu.ng 2007
60 Christopher University Mowe Prof. Friday Ndubuisi https://www.christopheruniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
61 Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State Prof. Kolade Ayorinde https://www.koladaisiuniversity.edu.ng/ 2016
62 Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State Prof. J O Afolayan https://www.aul.edu.ng/ 2016
63 Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State Prof. Anthony Akinwole https://www.dui.edu.ng/ 2016
64 Legacy University, Okija Anambra State Prof. Moses Nkem Chendo https://www.legacyuniversity.edu.ng/ 2016
65 Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State Prof. Julian Osuji https://www.arthurjarvisuniversity.edu.ng/ 2016
66 Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State Prof John Adesiji Olorunmaiye https://www.crownhilluniversity.edu.ng/ 2016
67 Coal City University Enugu State Prof. Malachy Ike Okwueze 2016
68 Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State Prof. Chimezie A Omeonu https://www.clifforduni.edu.ng/ 2016
69 Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State https://www.adun.edu.ng 2017
70 Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State Prof. Remy Onyewuenyi https://www.spiritanuniversity.edu.ng 2017
71 Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo Prof. Julius Kolawole Oloke https://www.pcu.edu.ng 2017
72 PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt Prof. Michael Diejomaoh https://www.pums.edu.ng 2017
73 Atiba University Oyo 2017
74 Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences Ijanikin, Lagos Professor Muheez Alani Durosinmi https://www.ekounivmed.edu.ng 2017
75 Skyline University, Kano Professor Sudhakar Kota https://www.sun.edu.ng 2018
76 Greenfield University, Kaduna https://www.gfu.edu.ng 2019
77 Dominion University Ibadan, Oyo State https://www.dominionuniversity.edu.ng/ 2019
78 Trinity University Ogun State Professor Charles Korede Ayo https://www.trinityuniversity.edu.ng/ 2019
79 Westland University Iwo, Osun State 2019

Source: NUC, https://www.nuc.edu.ng/nigerian-univerisities/private-univeristies/

 

Michael Oghenenyoreme Jules is a writer, publisher, researcher, marketer, business educator, publicist, social media influencer and ICT administrator. I write for, and the Lead researcher for A & U Ng. To advertise your products and any other business, please reach me on +2348060699054, +2348050706635, miklestheory@gmail.com

%d bloggers like this: