Several states in Nigeria has shutdown schools activities over fear of the spread of the novel coronavirus. Governors from nine northern states in Nigeria have agreed to shut down schools for 30 days in the region, as part of measures to curtail the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak Daily Trust reports.

The nine northern states include Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Niger, Sokoto, and Zamfara.

Meanwhile, the Lagos State Government has ordered that all public and private schools in the state be shut from Monday, March 23, 2020. The decision was taken as part of the preventive measures against the spread of the coronavirus.

According to a statement posted on the official twitter page of Lagos State Commissioner of Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotosho, and reported by Premium Times, he said, “the move becomes necessary to prevent our children and their teachers from getting more vulnerable to the pandemic”.

This brings the total number of states that has closed down schools to 10. As the cases of Coronavirus infections increases in Nigeria, it is expected that more states will follow the trend.