Ghanaian, Kenyan and other African authorities has ordered for the closure of Universities operations in their countries over increasing cases of coronavirus. President Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya told the nation in a televised address that “schools should close immediately and universities by the end of the week” he said.

“The government is suspending travel for all persons coming into Kenya from any country with reported coronavirus cases … only Kenyan citizens, and any foreigners with valid residence permits will be allowed to come in provided they proceed on self quarantine” he added.

Anyone entering Kenya in the last 14 days should self-quarantine.. The ban would take effect within 48 hours and rmain in place for at least 30 days.

President Uhuru also added that citizens would be encouraged to make cashless transactions to cut the risk of handling contaminated money.

Ghana will from Tuesday ban anyone who has been to country with more than 200 cases in the last 14 days, unless they are an official resident or a Ghanaian national.

Meanwhile, health officials in Ghana revealed that they have discovered 2 cases last Friday while two more cases where discovered on Saturday. In total, BBC Africa reports that Ghana has recorded a total of 6 cases of coronavirus and all were persons entering Ghana from abroad.

The President of the Republic of Ghana, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has announced the suspension of all educational activities in the country until further notice.

This announcement comes after the country recorded 4 other confirmed coronavirus cases bring the total number of confirmed cases to 6.

The Ministry of information and the Ministry of health announced the new cases in a press conference Sunday 15th March 2020.

Some health officials say Ghana’s case was not surprising as all neighboring countries reported confirmed cases.

Coronavirus has claimed more than 4947 lives since the outbreak.

Nana Addo addressing the general public Sunday evening said the closure directive is to ensure that government puts in place stringent measures to tackle the epidemic.

“All Universities, Senior High Schools, and basic schools, i.e. public and private schools, will be closed Monday, 16th March, 2020, till further notice. The Ministry of Education, in collaboration with the Ministry of Communication, has been tasked to roll out distance learning programmes. However, BECE and WASSCE candidates will be allowed to attend school to prepare for their examinations, but with prescribed social distancing protocols,” he said.